NHL All-Star Game: Brent Burns, Erik Karlsson, Joe Pavelski to rep Sharks


Just a few weeks ahead of The Tank hosting the 2019 NHL All-Star festivities, the rosters were finally announced – and three Sharks will represent the hometown team on Saturday, Jan. 26.

Sharks captain Joe Pavelski joins the Pacific Division lineup, along with defensemen Brent Burns and Erik Karlsson. This will be Pavelski’s third All-Star appearance, Burns’ fifth, and Karlsson’s sixth – although it is Karlsson’s first since a blockbuster trade to San Jose this offseason.

San Jose’s representatives will be on a roster including Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers), Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary Flames), Clayton Keller (Arizona Coyotes), Elias Pettersson (Vancouver Canucks), Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings), Marc-Andre Fleury (Vegas Golden Knights), and John Gibson (Anaheim Ducks). McDavid was voted in as the Pacific Division's captain. 

The other captains selected to represent their divisions are the Colorado Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon (Central), the Toronto Maple Leafs' Auston Matthews (Atlantic), and the Washington Capitals' Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan). Ovechkin announced earlier Wednesday he won't attend All-Star weekend in order to rest up as the Capitals aim to defend their Stanley Cup title. 

The rosters aren’t completely set, however, as fans are able to vote on a “Last Man In” for each division's roster from Jan. 3 through Jan. 10. Logan Couture is the lone Shark eligible, and would give the Sharks an NHL-leading four All-Stars this season if he is voted in.

This is the first time San Jose has hosted the NHL All-Star Game since 1997. In that game, the Eastern Conference defeated the Western Conference 11-7. Forwards Owen Nolan and Tony Granato represented the Sharks that year.

Contact Us